lets do good better

Growing together: My Social Day at the Frida Kahlo House

Rosalia and her team recently took part in a gardening project at the Frida Kahlo House in Cologne to get the garden ready for spring.
Field report

Rosalia and her team recently took part in a gardening project at the Frida Kahlo Haus in Cologne to get the garden ready for spring and get stuck in. The aim of the project was not only to make the surroundings more beautiful, but also to create a feel-good place for the residents for the coming months. The facility offers people between the ages of 18 and 50 who are confronted with an illness, accident or disability the opportunity to redesign their living space with the necessary support and find a new quality of life. The heartfelt gratitude of the local staff and the positive energy during the day touched her deeply and motivates her to continue being active. This experience has strengthened her conviction that each individual can make a difference, and she is already looking forward to her next social commitment.

Why did you participate in the project?

‍Ourteam was the first at Admiral Direkt this year and we knew that we would like to implement a project directly for people. We wanted to invest our time and energy in something worthwhile and we were able to do just that with the garden beautification at the Frida Kahlo House.

What did you like most about it?

‍Iwas impressed by how the mood among my colleagues changed over the course of the day. Despite the initially cold and wet weather, we worked together to get the garden ready for spring. The atmosphere became warmer by the minute and it was nice to see how we worked together as a team to do something good. I was particularly touched by the gratitude of the local person in charge, who was very happy to have our support with the project.

What did you maybe not like so much?

‍Ithink it would have been an enriching experience to interact in person with the people we were trying to help. At the same time, every member of our team was able to understand that such an "invasion of everyday life" for a short time causes more stress than positive feelings for the residents of the facility - but perhaps in the future there will be an opportunity to make this direct connection in a different context.

What do you personally take away from the project?

‍Forme personally, this project was a first in the field of volunteering. I am proud that I decided to give my time to a good cause and it was incredibly satisfying to see how my efforts had a direct positive impact. I would like to experience this feeling of fulfillment and togetherness more often in the future.

3 words that best describe your volunteering experience?

‍Successful, exhausting, fun

Is there anything else you would like to say?

‍Iam already looking forward to future projects and the opportunity to continue making a contribution to our society with lets. I also think it would be great to find more time for such valuable projects in my private life.

Are you inspired by Rosalia's article and would you like to introduce corporate volunteering in your company? Simply contact us, we look forward to hearing from you.

No items found.
Did you like the article? Then you are welcome to share it!

More on the topic

Field report

Arrange a non-binding initial consultation and get started

Get to know us without obligation and discover together with our social impact expert Katherina how lets can improve your social sustainability.
Corporate VOlunteering 101

Our guide for more social impact

Get the report
Volunteering as a business case

Social sustainability leads to lower personnel costs

Calculate your potential savings

lets do good better

Gemeinsam Wachsen: Mein Social Day im Frida Kahlo Haus

Rosalia und ihr Team haben vor kurzem an einem Gartenprojekt im Frida Kahlo Haus in Köln teilgenommen, um vor Ort den Garten frühlingsbereit zu machen.
Erfahrungsbericht

Rosalia und ihr Team haben vor kurzem an einem Gartenprojekt im Frida Kahlo Haus in Köln teilgenommen, um vor Ort den Garten frühlingsbereit zu machen und dabei tatkräftig anzupacken. Mit dem Projekt sollte nicht nur die Umgebung schöner gestaltet werden, sondern auch den Bewohner*innen einen Wohlfühlort für die kommenden Monate schaffen. Die Einrichtung bietet Menschen zwischen 18 und 50 Jahren, die mit einer Krankheit, einem Unfall oder einer Behinderung konfrontiert sind, die Möglichkeit, mit der nötigen Unterstützung ihren Lebensraum neu zu gestalten und eine neue Lebensqualität zu finden. Die herzliche Dankbarkeit der Mitarbeiter vor Ort und die positive Energie während des Tages haben sie zutiefst berührt und motivieren sie, weiterhin aktiv zu werden. Diese Erfahrung hat ihre Überzeugung gestärkt, dass jeder Einzelne etwas bewirken kann, und sie freut sich schon jetzt auf ihr nächstes soziales Engagement.

Warum hast du an dem Projekt teilgenommen?

Unser Team war das erste in diesem Jahr bei Admiral Direkt und wir wussten, dass wir gerne ein Projekt direkt für Menschen umsetzen möchten. Wir wollten unsere Zeit und Energie in etwas Sinnvolles investieren und haben mit der Gartenverschönerung im Frida Kahlo Haus genau das umsetzen können.

Was hat dir besonders gut gefallen?

Beeindruckt hat mich, wie sich die Stimmung unter den Kollegen im Laufe des Tages verändert hat. Trotz des anfänglich nasskalten Wetters haben wir gemeinsam angepackt und den Garten frühlingsbereit gemacht. Die Atmosphäre wurde von Minute zu Minute herzlicher, und es war schön zu sehen, wie wir als Team zusammenarbeiteten, um etwas Gutes zu bewirken. Besonders berührt hat mich die Dankbarkeit der zuständigen Person vor Ort, die sehr froh um unsere Unterstützung beim Projekt war.

Was hat dir vielleicht nicht so gut gefallen?

Ich denke, es wäre eine bereichernde Erfahrung gewesen, persönlich mit den Menschen zu interagieren, denen wir helfen wollten. Gleichzeitig konnte jedes Mitglied unseres Teams das Verständnis aufbringen, dass ein solches “Einfallen in den Alltag” für eine kurze Zeit für die Bewohner*innen der Einrichtung mehr Stress als positive Gefühle auslöst - vielleicht gibt es jedoch in Zukunft die Möglichkeit, diese direkte Verbindung in einem anderen Kontext herzustellen.

Was nimmst du für dich persönlich von dem Projekt mit?

Für mich persönlich war dieses Projekt eine Premiere im Bereich des ehrenamtlichen Engagements. Ich bin stolz darauf, dass ich mich dazu entschieden habe, meine Zeit für eine gute Sache einzusetzen, und es war unglaublich befriedigend zu sehen, wie meine Bemühungen einen direkten positiven Einfluss hatten. Dieses Gefühl der Erfüllung und des Miteinanders möchte ich in Zukunft gerne öfter erleben.

3 Wörter, die dein Volunteering-Erlebnis am besten beschreiben?

Erfolgreich, anstrengend, spaßig

Möchtest du sonst noch etwas loswerden?

Ich freue mich bereits auf zukünftige Projekte und die Möglichkeit, weiterhin mit lets einen Beitrag in unserer Gesellschaft zu leisten. Außerdem fände ich es großartig, auch privat mehr Zeit für solche wertvollen Projekte zu finden.

Rosalias Beitrag inspiriert Sie und Sie möchten Corporate Volunteering auch in Ihrem Unternehmen einführen? Kontaktieren Sie uns einfach, wir freuen uns auf Ihre Nachricht.

No items found.
Dir hat der Artikel gefallen? Dann darfst Du ihn gerne teilen!

Mehr zum Thema

Erfahrungsbericht
Demo vereinbaren

Sehen Sie lets in Aktion

Entdecken Sie gemeinsam mit unserem Social Impact Experten Niclas, wie lets Ihr soziales Engagement verbessern kann.
Corporate VOlunteering 101

Unsere Anleitung für mehr sozialen Impact

Zum White-Paper
Volunteering als Business case

Durch soziale Nachhaltigkeit zu weniger Personalkosten

Potenzial berechnen