lets do good better

Field report: An afternoon in a retirement home

Corporate volunteering at a retirement home. Irmi reports on her experience and impressions of a special afternoon.
Field report

Field report: Walk, coffee & cake with seniors

‍Nameof the project: Walk, Coffee & Cake with Seniors

‍Date: 13.04.2022

Name: Irmi Dietmair

Why did you participate in the project?

I've always had close contact with older people, whether it was grandma or grandpa, an older lady in town who always looked out for me, or when I was in school, the volunteer afternoons at the retirement home. It's so important to always provide a little variety at the senior home, make new contacts, just spend time together and share stories. That usually has more of an effect on the seniors than you might think. I therefore very much appreciate the work of volunteers in the retirement home and like to come more often!

What did you like most about it?

The lady with whom I was allowed to spend the afternoon told me her stories from the beginning about every 10 minutes. But it was nice to see that despite her dementia, she had not lost her zest for life and told me about her life again and again with pride and joy.

What did you maybe not like so much?

There wasn't a single point that I didn't like - but it's true that you come home and have a depressing feeling. Growing old is not always nice, illnesses are brought before your eyes, you often have to tell the residents the same thing 20 times, a lot of patience is required and above all stamina. You see how the staff cares for the residents with so much love despite difficult circumstances, and that's why I think much more value should be placed on this important work.

How important is volunteering to you?

Very important! Often, institutions, associations, aid organizations, etc. simply depend on it. I myself am permanently involved in private volunteering and grew up with a father who was a volunteer paramedic for over 40 years. I was practically born with it in my cradle 😉 .

What do you take away from the project?

One appreciates health and time with loved ones again. This is often lost in everyday life...

 

3 words that best describe your volunteering experience?

grateful - loving - appreciative (towards the work of the caregivers)

 

Anything else you want to get off your chest?

Simply super and above all important when voluntary commitment is also possible and supported via the employer!!! 🤍

No items found.
Did you like the article? Then you are welcome to share it!

More on the topic

Field report
Schedule demo call

See lets in action

Join our social impact expert Niclas to discover how lets could improve your employee engagement.
Corporate VOlunteering 101

Our guide for more social impact

Get the report
Volunteering as a business case

Social sustainability leads to lower personnel costs

Calculate your potential savings

lets do good better

Erfahrungsbericht: Ein Nachmittag im Seniorenheim

Corporate Volunteering im Seniorenheim. Irmi berichtet von ihrer Erfahrung und ihren Eindrücken eines besonderen Nachmittags.
Erfahrungsbericht

Erfahrungsbericht: Spaziergang, Kaffee & Kuchen mit Seniorinnen & Senioren

Name des Projekts: Spaziergang, Kaffee & Kuchen mit Seniorinnen und Senioren

Datum: 13.04.2022

Name: Irmi Dietmair

Warum hast du an dem Projekt teilgenommen?

Ich hatte schon immer engen Kontakt mit älteren Menschen, ob es die Oma oder der Opa war, eine ältere Dame im Ort die immer auf mich aufgepasst hat oder zur Schulzeit die ehrenamtlichen Nachmittage im Seniorenheim. Es ist so wichtig, im Seniorenheim immer für ein bisschen Abwechslung zu sorgen, neue Kontakte knüpfen, einfach Zeit miteinander zu verbringen und sich mit Erzählungen auszutauschen. Das bewirkt bei den Seniorinnen und Senioren meist mehr als man denkt. Ich schätze daher die Arbeit von Ehrenamtlichen im Altenheim sehr und komme gerne öfter!

Was hat dir besonders gut gefallen?

Die Dame, mit der ich den Nachmittag verbringen durfte, hat mir ca. alle 10 Minuten ihre Geschichten von vorne erzählt. Es war aber gerade deswegen schön zu sehen, dass sie trotz ihrer Demenz ihre Lebensfreude nicht verloren hatte und mit Stolz und Freude immer wieder über ihr Leben erzählt hat.

Was hat dir vielleicht nicht so gut gefallen?

Es gab keinen Punkt, der mir nicht gefallen hat - aber es ist schon so, dass man nachhause kommt und ein bedrückendes Gefühl hat. Alt werden ist nicht immer schön, Krankheiten werden einem vors Auge geführt, man muss den Bewohnern oft 20-mal das gleiche erzählen, viel Geduld ist gefragt und vor allem Durchhaltevermögen. Man sieht wie sich das Personal trotz schwieriger Umstände mit so viel Liebe um die Bewohner kümmert und deswegen finde ich sollte einfach viel mehr Wert auf diese so wichtige Arbeit gelegt werden.

Wie wichtig ist dir ehrenamtliches Engagement?

Sehr wichtig! Oft sind Einrichtungen, Vereine, Hilfsorganisationen usw. einfach darauf angewiesen. Ich selbst engagiere mich auch dauerhaft privat ehrenamtlich und bin mit einem Vater aufgewachsen, der über 40 Jahre ehrenamtlicher Rettungssanitäter war. Es wurde mir quasi in die Wiege gelegt. 😉

Was nimmst du von dem Projekt mit?

Man schätzt die Gesundheit und die Zeit mit den Liebsten wieder. Das verliert sich ja oft im Alltag…

 

3 Wörter, die dein Volunteering-Erlebnis am besten beschreiben?

dankbar – liebenswert –wertschätzend (gegenüber der Arbeit der Pflegekräfte)

 

Möchtest du sonst noch was loswerden?

Einfach super und vor allem wichtig, wenn ehrenamtliches Engagement auch über den Arbeitgeber möglich ist und unterstützt wird!! 🤍

No items found.
Dir hat der Artikel gefallen? Dann darfst Du ihn gerne teilen!

Mehr zum Thema

Erfahrungsbericht
Demo vereinbaren

Sehen Sie lets in Aktion

Entdecken Sie gemeinsam mit unserem Social Impact Experten Niclas, wie lets Ihr soziales Engagement verbessern kann.
Corporate VOlunteering 101

Unsere Anleitung für mehr sozialen Impact

Zum White-Paper
Volunteering als Business case

Durch soziale Nachhaltigkeit zu weniger Personalkosten

Potenzial berechnen